The camera-resistant quilt

Finally some pictures of the hourglass quilt all finished, bound, washed and dried. I’m in two minds with this one. I do like it, honestly I do – and more to the point Miss Marmoset loves it, but after the piecing went so well, the quilting resisted me at every stage. Straight line quilting seemed to catch on all the points, leading to bunching, hand-quilting just wasn’t right for it so the wiggle line quilting I think was the best solution. This was the first time I’ve used bamboo wadding. I wanted to love it, bamboo after all is a much ‘greener’ fibre than cotton being overwhelmingly less thirsty and less in need of regular coatings of pesticides*. However although it felt lovely, it didn’t seem to ‘cling’ to the quilt top very well. This meant that quilting it smoothly turned into a bit of a battle. Also, despite being pre-washed before use, then gently washed and line-dried after finishing, it’s also shrunk a bit more than I was expecting. My search for a greener alternative to cotton quilt wadding continues. For now I’m not sure I’d use bamboo again. All in all, please accept this as a rambling apology for this terrible photo of the finished quilt, take my word for it, in real life it’s much prettier than it looks here. It’s certainly warm too, which is great as we’re resisting putting the heating on for as long as possible! 

Img_3335
I finished it off with a stitched up label, something I never normally do, but thought I should start. There really is nothing like stitching up your own handwriting to make you realise how scruffy it is! 

Img_3338

Hopefully I’ll manage to finish up a couple of small projects this week before turning my attention to – the Christmas sewing list!!! It’s out there already – the monkeys have already drafted their first missives to the big FC.

Thanks for reading,
Helen
x

*One day I will manage to write properly on the subject of ‘greener’ quilting. It’s an on-going learning process as I try to search out ways to enjoy a really lovely hobby but reduce it’s heavy environmental impact.
4 thoughts on “The camera-resistant quilt

  1. What a beautiful quilt and the handstitched label is lovely . The quilt has a real vintage feel, very pretty. You’ll have to let us know how you get on in your quest for a greener batting. My favourite for ‘cling’ is warm and natural, but that is cotton, unfortunately. I have a distant memory of one of the online quilting shops doing a trial pack of various different batting squares – I’ll have to rack my brain and see if I can remember which it was.

  2. My mum and I have a roll of certified organic cotton batting that we’re planning to use in the next few months – we got it here: http://www.organiccotton.biz/store/index.php?route=product/category&path=104 (out of stock at the moment but they’ll get more in). My mum’s also used some recycled synthetic batting made from plastic bottles: http://www.cottonpatch.co.uk/acatalog/Man_Made_Wadding_Fibres.html . I prefer natural fibres, and I’m working on a large quilt with old woollen blankets as the batting. Quilting used to be a very green, resourceful craft, so it shouldn’t be too hard to make it that way again!

    • Hi Nina, thanks for leaving a comment. Greening up my quilting is becoming increasingly important to me, I’ve ordered fabric from the Organic Cotton shop you’ve mentioned but not the batting, I’ll be interested to see how you find it. I always look out for old wool blankets to use for wadding, but never see any in the charity shops locally. Where do you find yours from? Hx

Leave a Reply

