The swift-passing summer

We have only a week and a half left of the summer holidays left. I can’t deny, in previous years I have been known to be counting down the days to the start of term – but not this year. There are compensations to children growing and leaving the adorable baby years behind – they are suddenly so much more fun to hang out with. There are proper conversations to be had, they play together beautifully and at least the bickering has come on a bit from the familiar ‘snatch, thump, waaaah’ of previous summers. I have had lots of fun with my increasingly not-so-smalls this summer and I slightly resent them having to go back to school so soon – I’ll miss them!

It hasn’t all been perfect obviously – we did get to go on holiday, but the best thing that could be said about the cottage we hired was how artfully it had been photographed. It’s not the first time its happened to us – even the lovely Kiwi is starting to acknowledge that maybe, just maybe camping might be the way forward. At least you always know what your accommodation will be like! Still we had some wonderful days out and it was at least a good change of scene.

Brittany’s beaches are wonderful and the monkeys had a ball scrambling over rock pools, paddling in the sea, getting buried in the sand and discovering a new passion for French breakfast pastries.
Img_3047
I found this amazing vintage linen shop in Paimpol – it would’ve been so easy to have spent a fortune in here, but I managed to resist and come away with just a few bits. I don’t know know what all the moaning was about – they were lucky to get me out of there in 45 minutes!

Img_3070

I have finished a couple of little projects but the only real stitching that will be done in the next few days will be name tags in uniform – which is always tedious for even the keenest of needle-workers.

Hope you have all enjoyed a wonderful summer – thanks for reading,
Helen
x
3 thoughts on “The swift-passing summer

  1. Where were you in Brittany? I lived on the cote de granit rose for a year, in Lannion, not that far from Paimpol! Such a lovely place for holidays, I really want to take my children. Such a shame about your cottage, but I hoped you had a great time nonetheless.

    The fabric shop looks amazing – 45 minutes is _very_ restrained!

    But ugh – only a week left for us, and I haven’t started on those pesky name labels yet. I love it when they’re done, but it always ends up being a last-minute chore! I’ll miss mine too when they go back, and so will my littlest who has had all-day entertainment with the older two and husband (a teacher) around all Summer!

  2. Hello! We weren’t too far from Lannion. I really like the area – we’ve been there before. Just lots of places for everyone to enjoy. It’s the sudden quiet that shakes me when the children go back – sometimes longed for, but when it happens the place seems too quiet. Also – that’s the point I notice how absolutely filthy its become over the holidays!

  3. Glad you have had such a good summer – it’s great when you can have proper chats with the kids (altho’ mine are ALWAYS going to be a bit eccentric!!). That linen shop looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

