Wake up and smell the Vicks vapour rub…

It’s almost a month since I last blogged – where did May go? Actually much of May appears to have been spent clearing up after poorly small people at about 3am. Barbary Boy has had a shocking run of ill-health starting with a chest infection, running seamlessly into a tummy bug and is rounding off his ‘bad things come in threes’ with a four day run of fever stubbornly refusing to stay under 40C. We are all tired, wan and a bit grumpy; and if I hear the Thomas theme tune one more time I may have to stab myself in the eye with a fondue skewer. 

However in between the germ warfare good things have been happening. Miss Marmoset is still defiantly healthy and her reading is developing at an astonishing pace. My days of ‘net surfing with her watching over my shoulder are now over. The garden is slowly starting to bloom and there has even been a bit of stitching here and there. Miss M’s hourglass quilt is pieced and just needs some borders adding. As soon as the sun comes out again I’ll get some snaps.
Img_2402
In the meantime here’s a little Jubilee bunting flag I’ve stitched up while watching ‘The Best of Thomas‘ with Barbary Boy over the last few days. The children’s school has asked for everyone to make a bunting flag for their Jubilee celebrations and this is my contribution. I’m quite pleased with it really as I don’t usually attempt embroidery, and I can’t lie I’m terribly proud of that little Corgi’s face!
Img_2406
I thought I’d share Miss M’s latest portrait of me. The hair’s about right, and I’m glad she’s got me smiling but really I’m not that – well – stacked.
Img_2407
Thanks for reading,
Helen
x

 

5 thoughts on “Wake up and smell the Vicks vapour rub…

  1. Nice blog. Glad to hear your boy’s on the mend. The bunting flag looks fab, well done. Love your daughters drawing of you :O)

  2. Fabulous bunting!!! Hope little man is feeling better soon, that’s quite a run of poorliness! Love the drawing too! 🙂
    R xxx

  3. Oh, so sorry you have had poorliness… That’s bad news. Your bunting is wonderful – that corgi is really cute…. and lol at the pic…

  4. really cute bunting, I’m thinking of comemorating the olympics but this looks very patriotic, maybe I’ll do something..

Leave a Reply

