Good day Blues

So today is a good day – a lovely day in fact. The first ‘look no coat’ day since October and the feeling of real warmth is blissful especially after the Siberian blasts of cold we’ve had recently. 

It’s a great day for my first quilt finish of the year, the blue and red patchwork from last summer, finally backed quilted and the binding stitched down this afternoon. I hope it’s intended little recipient (and his Mum!) like it. All the fabrics featured come from my stash, there are a couple from a Christmas collection, the gingham comes from a French market a couple of summers ago, the rest are either 1930’s style feedsack prints or Liberty prints picked up from the V&A Quilt exhibition. It’s fair to say there really isn’t much blue left – ah well, another reason to shop!
Img_1892
So lovely to see a bit of spring bulb action appearing here and there, I have some sweet peas waiting to germinate indoors, I can’t wait to get properly going in the garden again.

Img_1893

Hope spring is finding it’s way to you too. Thanks for reading,
Helen
x
5 thoughts on “Good day Blues

  1. That’s lovely Helen – I recognise some of those pretty V&A prints from my browsing round the shop after seeing the exhibition – great memories!

  2. Thanks Ali, I still have some bits left which I’m guarding zealously – and trying not to notice that they’re all on special at the V&A shop still!

  3. I can just wrap myself in this beautiful and warm quilt. A cup of coffee and a good book on the couch would make for a perfect winter day since it’s very cold now, though it’s vintage design would fit any day.

  4. It's been so hot here this week, so hot even the lovely Kiwi struggled with the heat;16 years of living in the UK has changed him. The monkeys have spent most of their first week of the holidays pretending to ignore the constant soundtrack of 'hats, hats, KEEP YOUR SUNHATS ON!'. Seriously though, I don't want burnt scalps on my watch, brushing Miss Marmoset's hair can be traumatic enough as it is. Yet despite the scorchio conditions it's been a great start to the hols. We have pottered in forests (shade), splashed in the paddling pool, taken leisurely trips to the park, it's been exactly the kind of week I think we all needed by the time school was out. True, it was tense when the TV broke on Day 2 of the holidays. There was a brief moment as all family members exchanged shocked glances and pondered the possibility of having to spend six weeks actually talking to each other. However we're all adjusting well and I think the hot weather has made that adjustment much easier. That and remembering we can still get BBC Iplayer on the computer, telly methadone as it were. I will be tackling nothing more demanding than paper piecing this holiday. When I first found the on-line quilting community I had no idea what English Paper Piecing was when people referred to it. It took a while for the penny to drop that it is just patchwork. In my head things that are made on a sewing machine are part of quilting. Things that are made by hand, patchwork. I have no idea why or when I made the distinction, but it's stuck somehow. So it will be a patchwork summer. I have the many diamond hexies to work on and I think I'll dig these octagons out again and see if I can turn them into a big sham pillow.  The last time I showed you any pics of the garden it was looking pretty bleak and empty, so some pics of the border in full bloom. Enjoy, I am!Happy summer hols and as always, thanks for reading, Helenx

Leave a Reply

