Happy New Year!

Is there anybody out there?! I wouldn’t be surprised if there wasn’t. After a prolonged period of radio silence I’m back in the land of blogging. I think I needed to take a break and examine why I wanted to blog in the first place. I started this findahappyplace to keep a sporadic record of what I’m up to or making and to give family and friends who live far away a bit more of an idea of family life here. It spares them the painful Christmas round-robin letter at least. I’ve decided that trying to pressure myself into blogging once or twice a week just makes me dry up completely. So this year I can promise no regularity, no routine, no consistency but hopefully still some occasionally finished projects.

Speaking of which – most of autumn 2011 went on hand quilting one project – little Milly’s quilt. Milly is my niece born on Boxing Day of 2010, the intention was to give her the quilt as a first birthday present. Quite why I thought hand quilting and not starting until the beginning of October was the way to go I don’t know. It took some effort, and some heroically damaged thumbs, but we got there in the end. The quilt was really well received by Milly’s parents, the birthday girl herself was – quite rightly – much more interested in all of her new talking/squeaking/barking toys to take it in. I’m sure she will in time – it’s either that or Auntie Helen threatens to make her some clothes. Which as Miss Marmoset will be the first to say – nobody wants that to happen.

Img_1307-1
Img_1310-1
Img_1314-1

Naturally as it was intended as a present I couldn’t show you any progress until it was finished and given, so here are a few shots. Sadly after all that effort I took some really rubbish pictures in

 low winter light with some pretty unforgiving overhead spots, there’s been some playing in Picasa to try and right the colours but I might have to ask you to use your imagination. Assume that apart from the yellow border, it’s not all pale yellow okeydokey?

Thanks for reading,
Helen
x

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. It’s looking gorgeous on my screen… your hand-quilting is beautiful.. well done! And belated best wishes for 2012 to you and yours. xx

Leave a Reply

