Hiatus

Don’t you just hate being forced to be passive? Passive when you know you’re about to go through a period of great change and there’s nothing you can do to bring it forward, or at least organise for it? I think I’ve mentioned before that our landlady is selling the house that we’re currently in. Now that thousands of potential buyers have trampled through the house during the Easter holidays* an offer has been accepted and we are to start looking for a new house. Except, it seems we are a bit too early and that in renting terms we should be looking in the same month we’re hoping to move in. We’ve seen a couple of possible houses that would have been perfect, but  there was always someone else who could move in within a couple of weeks, whereas we can’t move until early July. I’m struggling to remain blase about it. The lovely Kiwi is absolutely upbeat that something will come up that will suit us admirably. I’m sure he’s right, but I hate the feeling of having my hands tied. No one seriously enjoys moving house do they? Knowing it’s coming is just making me want to crack on with it. Get packing, sorting, MOVING dammit, the sooner it’s done the better. Hrrmph hrrmph etc.

Anyhoodle this rambling preamble is a way of an apology for abandoning this little blog so much recently. I have not been doing anything because I am waiting to do things. If that makes any kind of sense. I don’t think it’s any coincidence that as soon as we learned there were to be no more viewings I developed an urge to start a new quilt.

Img_9599

I love Irish Chains. It’s such a traditional pattern, but always looks really fresh and new. I really wanted to try a triple Irish chain because I have a mental vision of a big, huuuuge one covering my bed one day. Things I learned from this experience: I now have to have a huge triple Irish chain quilt covering my bed one day, and also that’s going to require a lot of fabric because this one eats fabric like there’s no tomorrow. This quilt top is a fairly generous crib size (42 x 56″). All the same it’s taken a metre of the white fabric, 3 half metres of print and various fat quarters to see the top in the picture. I’ve decided not to border it and it will become a living room lap/snuggle quilt. Which brings me to my next moan, I haven’t the (uncarpeted) floor space to baste it, so it may well have to wait until we’re in a new house which I can’t prepare for and WAAAAHHHHH!!!!

Ahem, you’ll be pleased to know that the first strawberry of the year has ripened to luscious picking point. I gave the honours to Barbary Boy as a reward for all his restraint.He cradled it, sniffed it, picked it, ate it and pronounced it ‘a strawberry Mummy, just a strawberry’. It’s possible I build these things up too much πŸ™‚

Img_9545

Wishing everyone a fantastic weekend.
Thanks for reading,
Helenx

*a slight exaggeration, but only slight.

2 thoughts on “Hiatus

  1. Oh, huge sympathies on the housing situation. I hope something stonkingly wonderful (with massive quilt-basting floorspace) turns up just at the right moment. Believe.

    The quilt is coming along beautifully. Can you work on a companion miniature doll’s house version for the boy in the meantime? Don’t tell me boys don’t like dolls houses… I got away with one for mine. It would make a lovely conversation piece in years to come. πŸ˜‰

  2. Do you know I’ve made the little Miss a doll’s quilt before now that he’s shown a remarkable amount of interest in…hmmmm! Thanks for the kind comment!

Leave a Reply

