Out with the old and…in with the old

Part of the plan for this year, was to get more out of the things I already own, a combination of the get a bit greener ethos, the stash diet and frustration, ‘gawd what is all this crap in here’?

With that in mind I’ve been eyeing up this old sewing stool for a while. Possibly I should’ve put it into the Heirlooms post below, but I was a bit shy of doing that at the time. As you can see from the ‘before’ pic it was in a very gloomy, fragile state. I inherited the stool from my grand-mother, who inherited it from her mother. I thought it dated from about 1910, but apparently that green chenille top is most commonly used around the Victorian period, so I’m estimating about 1895-1905 instead. I had no idea what to do with it. For emotional reasons I couldn’t dispose of it, but I was worried that it would never be used and just sit, cluttering up this already very cluttered house.
 

Img_8667
Step forward my friend Caroline, (whose website is in development as we speak, I will link as soon as I can), who has taken the time between wiping faces and bottoms as a stay-at-home-Mum to re-train as an upholsterer. Caroline repadded and covered the top, really helping to firm it all up so the whole stool is now fit for purpose again. The interior still needs a bit of tlc, mainly due to my Nanny lining it with fablon sometime in the 60s, I think it’s rather eaten away at the inside, but from the exterior it looks lovely and I have moved all my sewing notions in.
 

001
The red, stripy fabric comes, of course, from the stash, it’s a cotton/linen mix from the Rouenneries collection by French General. For anyone wanting to restore the stool back to its original state in the future,(assuming it survives the monkeys thinking it’s new gym equipment), there is a sample of the original chenille and trim in the cushion padding. I love my sewing stool now, it feels great to have it take part in crafty/stitchy family endeavours and not to be an awkward and slightly resentful curator of family history.

Have a fab weekend everyone, thanks for reading.
Helenx

 

5 thoughts on “Out with the old and…in with the old

  1. How gorgeous – what a great job your friend has done. I love that French General fabric… there’s a Flickr group called French General Love (or something like that!) – you should post your pic there, definitely. 😀

  2. Very nice! The one thing I’d have been tempted to add is a bit of grey paint to the woodwork. But then, I’m currently painting most everything grey, provided it stands still long enough. 😉

  3. What are you painting? I did think about the woodwork too, but really it will have to wait I think until I can get (read afford) a furniture restorer to look over the exterior and interior. xx

  4. I’m painting all sorts at the moment: a stepladder, some shelves, a tray, a mirror, a ’50s sewing box. My weapon of choice is a can of fast-drying water-based eggshell. Annie Sloan is very good on these things.

Leave a Reply

