Hanging on in there

Morning! I am still here, honestly. One of the challenges I set myself for the year was to try and blog twice a week. It’s proving to be tricky. Not that I couldn’t ramble on twice a week, I could easily give you a daily wittering with weekend matinee if it were required; no it’s getting nice piccies sorted in this dreary winter light that’s the problem. I realise when I’m reading a blog that I always go back to ones with the best photos. If anyone has any tips for taking good snaps in dull grey weather I’d love to hear them. So I apologise for the muddy/indoor light on most of my pictures, I am trying!

This week is all about work in progress (WIPS).
 

Img_8663-1
Marmalade first, one batch down, at least one more to go. That gooey pale orange stuff in the photo is pectin, a substance released by the pith and seeds of the oranges as they’re boiled. I’ve heard lots of would-be marmalade makers ask whether they need to buy jam sugar to help their marmalade set. Don’t do it! Jam sugar is normal granulated sugar with added pectin to help achieve a good set without having to boil your preserve indefinitely. The pectin released by the oranges themselves should be more than sufficient to achieve a good set for your marmalade, if you go down the jam sugar route you may end up having to slice the finished preserve.
 

Img_8653
Img_8656
Next up; working my way through the ah, lesser highlights of the fabric stash. I bought this remnant for about £1 in a sale last year. I thought at the time it was a bit chintzy for my tastes, but I was sure I could turn it into something pretty for Miss Marmoset. The colours on this photo aren’t really true (*shakes fist at January light again*), but it says something about its chintziness that Miss Marmoset didn’t like it either. Rather than give up on it I decided to have a go at aging it a little. Hence the mop bucket full of tea. Usually when Miss Marmoset is putting us through one her ‘you snooze, you lose’ weeks I’d be tempted to give it a slug of semi-skim and dive right in. This time however, I put the fabric in, stirred it around, allowed it to cool and…well I’m rather charmed with the results. I think I’ll wait until they’re cushion covers and can be better photographed to show the success of the experiment.
 

Img_8688
Lastly I have finally got to pinning out this coin quilt and quilting has commenced. One day we’ll live in a house that doesn’t require me to pin out quilts on a carpeted floor, unpick quilt from carpet, then pin out again. Sore fingers now, but I think it’ll be worth it.

End of January is in sight woo!

Thanks for reading,
Helenx

 

One thought on “Hanging on in there

  1. I’m not really qualified to answer your lighting question but I’ve tried variously: 1) a light therapy lamp (big, round and bright, almost like the sun…), 2) anglepoise lamps, 3) rushing to take pics in the 5 minutes that the sun does appear – albeit weakly – from behind a cloud, 4) going outside, even if it seems a dull day, 5) using a tripod or other support so that you can make the most of the light you have, and 5) cheating – for instance, yesterday I posted a picture taken this time last year. Somewhere out there on the internet there’s a free how-to for creating a little lighting box: useful if you’re taking pictures of items to sell online, for instance. Anyway, do keep trying!

Leave a Reply

