A fun quilt for a fun little guy

Now I thought this would happen, start at a canter and then leave it for quite a while before posting again. This is showing all the hallmarks of my teenage diaries, give it another couple of posts and I'll be giving you my list of 'Top Ten boys I'd like to snog'. In my defence, I wanted to get a few things done before posting again. So the tomato chutney got made, and as it turns out doesn't smell nearly as bad as the damson stuff did whilst simmering. I hope it turns out OK as I was a bit casual with the recipe, 'oops not enough malt vinegar/demerara I'll approximate with this' etc etc. Also Miss Marmoset has had yet another encounter with asthma, not as serious as it has been in the past, but plenty to stop us getting any sleep at night.
 
However the biggest project I've been trying to finish off has been Barbary Boy's very own quilt. Ever since I finished Miss Marmoset's this time last year (pictured below on our bed), I've really wanted him to have one too. Miss Marmoset's quilt was entirely hand-pieced and hand-quilted, it's the quilt which reignited a long-loved hobby. By the time I started Barbary Boy's last winter I had a sewing machine and was amazed at how quickly the top was pieced. I really wanted to hand quilt it with perle cotton as I love the look of all the quilts in Material Obsession. I thought I would have it finished by April…but this is where the weather (because I prefer to blame the elements rather than myself) got involved and complicated matters. Think back to last winter, what do you remember? Snow? More snow? Maybe some more snow followed by a last plunge of temperature before Spring put in a rather half-arsed appearance? It was during that last phase I went wadding shopping, with my judgement completely skewed by the temperature outside I came home with a lot of 50/50 cotton/alpaca wadding. Enough in fact for three layers of wadding in the quilt, which I then started hand-quilting. I'm not much on giving quilting tips, being a relative newbie, but I would urge quilters to try and avoid buying wadding on what later turns out to be the coldest day, in the coldest winter for 30 years. Trust me, you'll save yourself a lot of effort.  It's taken me six months longer than I thought it would, although I have produced three smaller quilts in that time, and I've had some really attractive calluses, but all in all I'm really pleased with how its turned out. It is heavy though, I may never have to tuck Barbary Boy in again, just heave over quilt and leave him pinned to the mattress until morning!
 
Thanks for reading,
Helenx
 

Leave a Reply

